A quick foxy project


It is probably time I demonstrated a project of my own, although I do love doing profiles on other artists — It gives you a goal to aim for in excellence.

Today I will be posting about the processes I go through when cutting a new project. I have started with a basic option today and I have selected this cute fox as my starting point.

If you like this project the finished cut is available for sale on ETSY at:

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/162448814/fox-paper-cut-10in-diameter-unframed-fox

Finished fox paper cut

Finished fox paper cut

Step 1. I drew up my fox in Adobe Illustrator, if you don’t have illustrator any vector based drawing program will do, like Corel, or InkScape,

Step 2. Next, when happy with the drawing, export the art as an .SVG file

Step 3. Create a new project to the size of your paper in your cutting software and import the .SVG file, I use Funtime Scrapbook – it is working for me at the moment.

Funtime scrapbooking screen capture

Funtime scrapbooking screen capture, with cutting window open

Step 4. CUT! I have a Black Cat Lynx. Apply the paper to your cutting mat, align the blade and zero the coordinates. Lock the paper in place. Watch your fingers!

Black Cat Lynx cutter, she sings as she cuts

Black Cat Lynx cutter, she sings as she cuts

Step 5. Remove the freshly cut project when the machine has finished cutting.

Fox papr cut, before weeding

Fox papr cut, before weeding

Step 6. Carefully remove the cut silhouette from the cutting matt.

The negative space from the cutting project

The negative space from the cutting project, this is the waste from the project, some parts can be salvaged for other projects

Step 7. Admire the remaining scraps on the mat. I love looking at the negative space.

Step 8. Voila! All finished! You can of course mount and frame the project if you want. 🙂

Framed fox paper cut

Framed fox paper cut

If you like this project the finished cut is available for sale on ETSY at:

https://www.etsy.com/au/listing/162448814/fox-paper-cut-10in-diameter-unframed-fox

Leave a Reply, let me know your thoughts

